Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Season Draws to a Close

State Championships:

Lawrence Free State who represented 6A East in the state championship came up short against Junction City for the title. Throughout the game neither of the Firebirds speed demons (Camren Torneden and Chucky Hunter) weren't able to break loose for many big gains. The Junction City Blue Jays completed timely passes down the stretch to come away with the victory 19-14. Junction City finished as the Kansas Class 6A Champion, going a perfect 13-0. The Firebirds from Lawrence Free State finished their season 9-4.

At the 5A level, the Salthawks from Hutchinson won their fifth consecutive state championship defeating St. Thomas Aquinas 38-0. At the 2A-1A level, the Smith Center Redmen beat Olpe 48-13 to claim their fifth consecutive state championship as well. With the victory Smith Center won its 67th straight game, breaking the previous Kansas record of 66 straight wins accomplished by Pittsburg-Colgan from 2000 through 2004.

Smith Center's 67 game win streak ranks eighth nationally all time in the high school ranks. The record? De La Salle High School from Concord, CA. won 151 straight games from 1992 through 2003.

All-Sunflower League Teams:

SM West had a nice showing in this years All-Sunflower League Selections, controlling six of the 23 first team positions, and four of the 23 second teams positions. The teams were as follows:

First Team All-Sunflower League


Camren Torneden, Quarterback, Law. Free State

James Franklin, Running Back, Olathe North

Darron Harvey, Running Back, SM West (Right)

JaVon Williams, Running Back, Olathe East

Reggie Harris, Receiver, Olathe South

Marcus Webb, Receiver, SM East

Aaron Rea, Receiver, Lawrence

Anthony Nemec, Tight End, Olathe East

Darion Hillman, Offensive Line, SM Northwest

Oliver Venegas, Offensive Line, Olathe North

David Lalo, Offensive Line, Olathe East

Michael Lisher, Offensive Line, Law. Free State

Matt Prem, Offensive Line, SM West

Justin Scott, Kicker, SM West

Mark Fancher, Kick Returner, SM Northwest


Jake Woten, Defensive Line, Olathe East

Kevin Young, Defensive Line, Olathe North

Lucas Vincent, Defensive Line, Olathe North

Grahm Saunders, Defensive Line, Law. Free State

Doug Peete, Linebacker, Olathe North

Justin Scott, Linebacker, SM West

Aaron Johnson, Linebacker, Olathe East

Tanner Miracle, Linebacker, Olathe South

Derahn Williams, Defensive Back, Olathe East

Danny Herring, Defensive Back, SM West (Right)

Bryan Shepherd, Defensive Back, Olathe North

Rick Settle, Defensive Back, Olathe East

Justin Scott, Punter, SM West

Second Team All-Sunflower League


DJ Balazs, Quarterback, SM West

Chucky Hunter, Running Back, Law. Free State

Jake Byrd, Running Back, Olathe South

Clifton Sims, Running Back, Lawrence

Mark Fancher, Receiver, SM Northwest

Deron Dangerfield, Receiver, SM South

Bryan Shepherd, Receiver, Olathe North

Taylor Stuart, Tight End, Law. Free State

Zach Maggard, Offensive Line, Olathe North

Spencer White, Offensive Line, SM West

Ben Davis, Offensive Line, SM Northwest

Jay Baker, Offensive Line, Lawrence

Grahm Saunders, Offensive Line, Law. Free State

Brandin DeLano, Kicker, Olathe East

Warren Brown, Leavenworth, Kick Returner


Josh Sanches, Defensive Line, SM West

A.J. Dean, Defensive Line, Olathe East

Jermaine Rollines, Defensive Line, SM North

Darion Hillman, Defensive Line, SM Northwest

John Hauk, Linebacker, SM Northwest

Preston Garcia, Linebacker, SM West

Eric Franz, Linebacker, Law. Free State

Darren Sorem, Linebacker, Lawrence

Preston Randolph, Defensive Back, Law. Free State

Schuyler Jackson, Defensive Back, SM Northwest

Jason Peete, Defensive Back, Olathe North

Owola Shields, Defensive Back, SM North

Brad Gourley, Punter, Olathe South

Photos: Darron Harvey, Danny Herring, First Team All-Sunflower League. Photos Courtesy LJWorld, KC Star.


SM West, Olathe North, and Olathe East all had six first teams position selections, combining to take 18 of the 23 first team positions. SM West's Justin Scott also accomplished quite a feat by making the first team at three difference positions (LB, K, P). That is the first time I have seen a player do that in the Sunflower League.

No comments: