Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Gourley, Sherman Win Awards

SM East Head Coach
Chip Sherman.
While no player in the Sunflower League took home an individual honor at the Simone Award ceremonies on Tuesday, two of its coaches did. 

SM East head coach Chip Sherman was awarded the Nathan Stiles Inspiration Award after leading the Lancers to a 6-5 record and Sectional berth, despite battling cancer and enduring continuous chemo therapy sessions throughout the season.

Olathe South head coach Jeff Gourley was named the Kansas Coach of the Year after leading the Falcons to a 12-1 record and their first state title in school history.

The other awards were given out as follows:

The Simone Award - Evan Boehm, Lee's Summit West
Buck Buchanan Award- Evan Boehm, Lee's Summit West
Bobby Bell Award- Travis Britz, Harrisonville
Otis Taylor Award - Tre' Parmalee, Bishop Miege
Kimble Anders Unsung Hero Award - Julius Foster, Lincoln Prep; Carlos Reams, Lincoln Prep
Missouri Coach of the Year - Fred Bouchard, Staley
Gordon Docking Media Award - Dion Clisso, Prepskc.com

No comments: